8.5 C
Thursday, February 22, 2024
HomeSportsAFI Nationwide Open U23 Athletics Championships: Puneet Yadav Marks Memorable 10,000m Debut...

AFI Nationwide Open U23 Athletics Championships: Puneet Yadav Marks Memorable 10,000m Debut With Document

Haryana’s Puneet Yadav dazzled on debut, registering a brand new meet file en path to clinching the ten,000m title on the AFI Nationwide Open U23 Athletics Championships on Saturday.

ALSO READ| India Beat Australia on Penalties to Clinch Sultan of Johor Cup

The 19-year-old led a bunch of eight males, who completed the ten,000m with 15 seconds of each other.

Operating his maiden 25-lap race on the nationwide degree, Puneet did nicely to remain within the lead group, making certain that he can be in the perfect place to dash to victory.

He gained in a time of 29:44.64, practically a minute quicker than Kartik Kumar’s successful time (30:41.66) within the inaugural championships in New Delhi final 12 months.

Delhi’s Rohit Kumar, who was sixth in a pacy race within the latest Nationwide Video games, took bronze behind Farookh Choudhary (Uttar Pradesh).

Sumit Goliyan had initially completed third however was disqualified for being over-age.

The lads’s triple soar closing noticed an exciting end. Tamil Nadu’s S Robinson claimed the lead with a private greatest effort of 15.56m solely to look at his team-mate J Mohanraj produce a 15.65m hop, step and soar for his private greatest authorized effort.

Kerala’s Akash Varghese surprised them each by regaining his lead with a 15.70m attempt that can go down as his private greatest.

Mallala Anusha (Andhra Pradesh) gained the ladies’s triple soar on a countback after Karnataka’s Pavithra tied her greatest effort with a 12.79m attempt.

Anusha’s second greatest effort was 12.78m whereas Pavithra couldn’t go previous the 12.73m mark as her second-best effort. Haryana’s Mimansa Dahiya took bronze with 12.75m.

Yogita Kumar, fourth final 12 months, produced a private greatest effort of 14.90m to assert the ladies’s shot put gold.

4 of the Haryana athlete’s places, starting together with her opening attempt of 14.50m, had been good for her to win the crown together with her greatest approaching her third go to to the circle.

Final 12 months’s bronze medallist V Ambika (Karnataka) took silver this time.

Outcomes (finals):

Males 10000m: 1. Puneet Yadav (Haryana) 29:44.64; 2. Farookh Choudhary (Uttar Pradesh) 29:46.11; 3. Rohit Kumar (Delhi) 29:46.41.

Pole Vault: 1. Shekhar Pandey (Uttar Pradesh) 4.80m; 2. Deepak Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) and Reegan G (Tamil Nadu) 4.80.

Triple Bounce: 1. Akash Varghese (Kerala) 15.70m; 2. J Mohanraj (Tamil Nadu) 15.65; 3. S Robinson (Tamil Nadu) 15.56.

Girls 10000m: 1. Soniya (Uttarakhand) 37:32.66.

Triple Bounce: 1. Mallala Anusha (Andhra Pradesh) 12.79m; 2. Pavithra (Karnataka) 12.79; 3. Mimansa Dahiya (Haryana) 12.75.

Shot Put: 1. Yogita Kumar (Haryana) 14.90m; 2. V Ambika (Karnataka) 14.34; 3. Prity Chakraborty (West Bengal) 13.10.

Hammer Throw: 1. Tanya Chaudhary (Uttar Pradesh) 53.72m; 2. Sneha Jadhav (Maharashtra) 52.03; 3. Aishwarya (Haryana) 50.36.

Learn all of the Latest Sports News right here

Source link

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments