14.9 C
Monday, November 27, 2023
HomeCricketSuryakumar Yadav named skipper, Shreyas Iyer rested for first three Australia T20Is...

Suryakumar Yadav named skipper, Shreyas Iyer rested for first three Australia T20Is | Cricket Information – Instances of India

msid 105363965,imgsize 48460

NEW DELHI: The Board of Management for Cricket in India on Monday named Suryakumar Yadav as skipper for the 5-match T20I sequence towards Australia beginning November 23 in Visakhapatnam.
Opener Ruturaj Gaikwad has been named as vice-captain for the sequence towards the newly-crowned ODI champions, because the hosts solely picked three gamers from the current World Cup squad – Prasidh Krishna, Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar himself.
Nevertheless, Shreyas Iyer will be a part of the squad for the final two T20Is in Raipur and Bengaluru and he’ll take over the position of vice-captain from Gaikwad.
Ranked because the No 1 batsman in T20Is for some time now, ‘SKY’ was chosen because the captain for this sequence — first time he might be captaining India — after it turned clear that star all-rounder Hardik Pandya, who suffered a nasty ankle damage his throughout the World Cup, will not be more likely to return to motion the subsequent couple of months.
After a draining marketing campaign within the current ODI World Cup, India expectedly didn’t choose many senior gamers within the 15-member squad, with solely Suryakumar, Prasidh and Ishan crossing over for the T20Is. The selectors felt that these three gamers haven’t performed sufficient cricket to warrant workload administration at this second.
Axar Patel has additionally discovered a spot within the squad after he missed the quadrennial massive bash with a left quadriceps damage.
Nevertheless, the left-arm spinner returned to aggressive cricket final month for Gujarat within the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, the place he performed two matches towards Punjab and Railways.
With regards to the youthful names within the squad, these gamers have already got appreciable publicity to the top-level cricket as they have been a part of the Indian squad for the three-match T20I sequence towards Eire after which for the Asian Video games in Hangzhou.
The mandarins pegged the choice of gamers primarily on them having two good successive IPL seasons and the members within the squad have that towards their names.
Nevertheless, a few of the performers within the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy equivalent to batters Riyan Parag, Abhishek Sharma and veteran pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar couldn’t discover a berth within the squad.
Bhuvneshwar has picked up 16 wickets from seven matches within the SMAT at a formidable financial system of 5.84 however the selectors felt that his tempo has dropped significantly, barely averaging 130 kmph.
Parag and Sharma have been in rivalry after their wonderful run within the SMAT. Parag, who performs for Assam, was the main run-scorer within the match with 510 runs from 10 matches, together with seven fifties with a strike charge of 182.
Punjab left-hander Sharma, who can also be a helpful left-arm spinner, was the second highest run-getter within the SMAT with 485 runs from 10 matches, together with two tons of and three fifties with a strike-rate of 192.
However the powers that be felt that whereas these two gamers held out promise, they wanted to indicate extra consistency within the IPL to benefit a spot within the nationwide aspect.
Sanju Samson may need been hoping to discover a place within the squad however the Kerala batsmen was a notable absentee.
Maybe, his lukewarm effort within the SMAT compelled the selectors to miss him in the interim.
Samson made a modest 138 runs from eight matches at a median of 27 and his strike-rate hovered round 145. He had made two fifties within the occasion.
Nevertheless, Samson will get an opportunity to impress the selectors within the upcoming Vijay Hazare one-day match whereas main Kerala.
Former India batter VVS Laxman would be the head coach of the staff for the sequence.
India squad: Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

How Pat Cummins silenced the Ahmedabad crowd with Aussie staff’s flawless efficiency within the finals

(With inputs from PTI)

#Suryakumar #Yadav #named #skipper #Shreyas #Iyer #rested #Australia #T20Is #Cricket #Information #Instances #India

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments